Can I Buy Pepper Spray Online?

Can I Buy Pepper Spray Online?

It depends in what state you live in. There are states that it is illegal to ship to, and there are some states that are legal to own but with restrictions.

Pepper spray is a non-lethal product for self defense. The substance may be sprayed or shot out from a canister to an assailant. Upon contact to assailant's skin or clothing, it will cause irritation to the facial area and impairs their eyesight.

Pepper spray aids people in a non-lethal way to get away from possible attackers. You must be at least 18 years old and have no felony convictions or any assualt charges to legally own and carry pepper spray.


Below states have specific restrictions and laws of purchasing pepper sprays.

Legal States with Restictions

Alaska: State does not allow pepper spray to be carried inside a school unless the person is at least 21 years of age.

Arkansas: Pepper spray container must be less than 5 ounces.

California: Pepper spray container must not exceed 2.49 ounces.

Florida: Restricts the size of pepper spray container to no more than 2 ounces.

Hawaii: No state law regarding the sale or possession of non-lethal spray weapons, but the City and County of Honolulu and the county of Hawaii have possession law except for those people who obtain a permit from that County's chief of police.

Massachusetts: Illegal to ship human formula. Must purchase from a licensed firearms dealer in MA.

Michigan: Pepper spray container may not exceed 1.2 ounces. May not contian more than 18% oleoresin capsicum or OC and 1.4% MC.

Nevada: Cannot carry a container greater than 2 ounces if it contains CS tear gas.

New Jersey: Only containers of 0.75 ounces or less are legal in the state. If you are 18 and a non-felon, it is legal to purchase pepper spray.

New York: Illegal to ship human formula. Must purchase from a licensed firearms dealer in NY.

Wisconsin: Limit of 2 ounces of pepper spray containers. Pepper spray cannot contain more than 10% oleoresin capsicum or OC.


Legal States (No Restrictions)

Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming

(Legal States: You can carry pepper spray legally as long as you are 18.)


All states have laws against the illegal use of pepper spray.  Pepper spray can only be used in self defense and it is illegal to use it against a person or animal that you are attacking. Each state has detailed wording on the legality or misuse of pepper spray.  Misusing pepper spray can get you a fine and/or imprisonment. Make sure to get familiar with your local state laws on the use of pepper spray.


Disclaimer: The above laws reflect the best information we have at this time and may or may not be complete. In no way should this be used as the final information on the legal status of pepper spray nor is this information intended to take the place of legal counsel or be looked at as being any form of legal advise. Please check with your local authorities to obtain the latest up-to-date information on the legality of pepper spray in your area. It is the responsibility of the end user to check their local and state laws to determine legality.
Always Guarded Boutique is not responsible for the determining legality concerning local laws and restrictions, the buyer is soley responsible for determining the legality of the possession and use of our products in your city and state.

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.